RUBIKA

Actuality

RUBIKA ENTRANCE EXAM DESIGN TIPS

THE ENTRANCE

The entrance takes place over one day with written exams:

  • QCM general knowledge
  • 2 Specialized exams

An individual interview lasting 20 minutes will be conducted by a person in charge and/or a contributor from the sector concerned. During this interview, the student will have to present his objectives, his motivation, his knowledge of the sector, his interests, his favourite works, his hobbies, … This privileged moment will also allow the examiner to appreciate the technical and artistic qualities of the student by going through his or her portfolio. Finally, we will take advantage of this exchange to evaluate the level of oral English

SPECIALISED DESIGN EXAMS

The general culture MCQ will focus on civilizations, history, geography, society, … but also on points related to the desired orientation. In the case of the Design program, the questions may relate to the industry, jobs, industrial production and the story of Design from the first industrial revolution to the present day, events related to specialization, … These same themes may be addressed during the individual interview.

A specialized exam will focus on observational drawing (still life).

A specialized exam will focus on a social, societal and/or environmental reflection/problem, you will be evaluated on your analysis and formal response (drawings of your solution under different views in its environment – It is important to also describe how it works through diagrams and/or a scenario).

THE PORTFOLIO

There is no particular formalism expected for the Portfolio but a great expectation on the variety, quantity and quality of the works presented (Drawing in general: observation, perspective, but especially on your creativity and understanding of design), possibly sketchbook(s) and other paper or digital creations, in 2D, 3D or other techniques.

In the case of a very rich content, it is advisable to make a pre-selection in order to be sure to show the work most representative of the level already acquired. The remaining work will be made available to the examiner for consultation during the exchange

USEFUL REFERENCES

A selection of some books on artistic creation and the creation of games :

Compo_DESIGN

  • Alexandra Midal – Design, Introduction à l’histoire d’une discipline
  • Raymond Loewy – La laideur se vend mal
  • Raymond Guidot – Histoire du design de 1940 à nos jours
  • Peter Fiell – Design du XXème siècle
  • Scott Robertson – How to draw sketches and environments
  • Scott RobertsonThomas Bertling – How to render
  • HPoint – Design Studio Press
  • Editions Taschen – DesignStudioPress

USEFUL LINKS

ADVICES

Draw every day: you can easily produce one drawing a day … From creation or observation, it doesn’t matter but draw!

Cultivate yourself: A good designer is already a curious designer! This will feed your imagination and creativity!

Find out more about the trades and techniques related to the sector you wish to take!

RUBIKA
Menu

Actualités

PRÉ-REQUIS CONCOURS DESIGN INDUSTRIEL

LE CONCOURS

Le concours se déroule sur une journée avec des épreuves écrites :

  • QCM culture générale
  • 2 Épreuves spécialisées

Un entretien individuel d’une durée de 20 minutes sera assuré par un responsable et/ou un intervenant de la filière concernée. Dans le cadre de cet entretien, l’étudiant devra présenter ses objectifs, sa motivation, sa connaissance du secteur, ses centres d’intérêts, ses œuvres préférées, ses hobbies, … Ce moment privilégié permettra également à l’examinateur d’apprécier les qualités techniques et artistiques de l’étudiant en parcourant son portfolio. Enfin, nous profiterons de cet échange pour évaluer le niveau d’anglais oral.

ÉPREUVES SPÉCIALISÉES DESIGN

Le QCM de culture général portera sur les civilisations, histoire, géographie, société, … mais également sur des points en rapport avec l’orientation souhaitée. Dans le cas de la filière DESIGN, les questions pourront porter sur l’industrie, les métiers, les productions industriel et l’histoire du Design de la première révolution industrielle à nos jours, les événements liés à la spécialisation, … Ces mêmes thèmes pourront être abordés dans le cadre de l’entretien individuel.

Une épreuve spécialisée portera sur du dessin d’observation (nature morte).

Une épreuve spécialisée portera sur une réflexion/problématique sociale, sociétale et/ou environnementale, vous serez évalués sur votre analyse et la réponse formelle (dessins de votre solution sous différentes vues dans son environnement – Il est important de décrire également son fonctionnement par des schémas et/ou un scénario).

LE PORTFOLIO

Il n’y a pas de formalisme particulier attendu pour le Portfolio mais une grande attente sur la variété, la quantité et la qualité des travaux présentés (Le dessin en général : observation, perspective, mais surtout sur votre créativité et la compréhension du design…), éventuellement un(des) carnet(s) de croquis et autres réalisations maquettes ou numériques, en 2D, 3D ou autres techniques.

Dans le cas d’un contenu très riche, il est conseillé de faire une pré sélection afin d’être sûr de montrer le travail le plus représentatif du niveau déjà acquis. Le restant de travaux sera mis à disposition de l’examinateur qui pourra les consulter durant l’échange.

RÉFÉRENCES UTILES

Une sélection de quelques ouvrages sur la création artistique et la création de jeux :

Compo_DESIGN

  • Alexandra Midal – Design, Introduction à l’histoire d’une discipline
  • Raymond Loewy – La laideur se vend mal
  • Raymond Guidot – Histoire du design de 1940 à nos jours
  • Peter Fiell – Design du XXème siècle
  • Scott Robertson – How to draw sketches and environments
  • Scott RobertsonThomas Bertling – How to render
  • HPoint – Design Studio Press
  • Editions Taschen – DesignStudioPress

LIENS UTILES

CONSEILS

Dessinez tous les jours : on peut aisément produire un dessin par jour … De la création ou de l’observation, peu importe mais dessinez !

Cultivez-vous : Un bon designer est déjà un designer curieux ! Cela nourrira votre imagination et votre créativité !

Renseignez-vous sur les métiers et les techniques liés à la filière que vous désirez emprunter !